Big Al rests

Big Al. Yep, that’s what they call me.

I wasn’t born with that name you know. It so happens that I am the largest of my kind in the forest. Gray tough skin, large teeth, humongous legs. Others are big too, I am relatively bigger. Once I had defeated my cousin Ralph. He is a bully, and a very good one. The old ones do not like him much-they say he will lead to the downfall of the empire. Yes, we have an empire and Ralph is the successor.

And how he proves himself to be the ‘suitable’ successor? By attacking the enemies and ‘protecting’ the citizens. I do not want him to be the successor but we don’t have much choices either. He can save our kind. And isn’t that how a King is judged?

Moreover, he is gaining support at a rapid pace. You see, our empire was once huge in size. Everyone wanted to be a part of it and immigrants were allowed with the music from our trunks. Wolves, Hyenas, Cheetahs, Deer, Crocodiles, Pythons, Chimpanzees, you name it-we had them all.

But like everything else falls apart, this did too. A new kind of animals made way into our forest. In the beginning, some of us thought that they were friendly and magicians-they could create their own Sun striking two stones. But then, centuries later, they were taking away our land. They cut down trees, made their own bizarre ‘houses’ and became so insane as to make their own kind work for them. It’s not like we didn’t do anything, of course we did. But they were so much more advanced with their weapons. They stood against each other in unity to break ours.

Slowly, some of us started to leave. There wasn’t enough food, enough place to rest, enough mates. Filled with rage, Ralph decided to take revenge. With the permission from his father he devised plans to invade those animals when they were asleep. Their houses fell, we triumphed almost every time. A lot us got killed too but Ralph made us believe that it was for the future. The revolution had begun and Ralph gained more followers than ever.

I didn’t join his party. It was all too dangerous. And I had my sweetheart Coco by my side. We are going to have a baby very soon. I am so excited about it.

(Sound of a gunshot)

That sound is too familiar. I thought this place was clear.

(Sound of another gunshot)

I must inform Ralph. My legs…I cannot run. Is that blood? Whose? Mine? It is coming from me. Something has attacked my leg. I must alarm others.

(Big Al blows his trunk)

This will lead them to safety. I am falling. The earth shook a little. I cannot move. What is happening with me. Who are they? Are they those animals coming towards me? What have I done? They are so tiny.

(Two men with rifles stand near Big Al)

Man 1 says, “This must be it. The one that was the trouble.”

Man 2 says, “Look at its size. It must be worth something down there.”

Man 1 says, “You must be kidding me. If the officer comes to know of it, he will suspend us.”

Man 2 says, “Only if he knows we did that.”

Man 1 nods and says to Big Al, “You wait here big guy, and we will come back for you.”

 

What were they saying? They speak in such a different tongue that it will take decades for my kind to understand them. I don’t think they are coming back. I must call for help.

(Big Al blows his trunk)

I am feeling weak. My body is wet. All the blood, they are trickling slowly. Ralph will come and save me. Then he will go after these animals. He will kill them all and become the new King. I cannot decide which is worse: Being killed right now or being able to survive and see Ralph rule.

Why am I thinking about all this? I must be optimistic, as dad used to say. He lived quite long. I must be optimistic. Nothing can happen to me. I will go back to my friends and my family, my Coco and my yet-to-be-born child.

I want a boy. I need him to be strong as I am. He will defeat Ralph’s son like I had defeated Ralph. I still remember the crowd cheering my name, ‘Big Al, ‘Big Al’, the only time I was proud of my name. That is where I met Coco too. Yes, I remember. We were just kids, can’t recall how old.

I am feeling giddy. I must call them again.

(Big Al blows his trunk)

They must be on the way. Hold on Big Al, you’ll be fine. You’ll go back to Coco and see Ralph rule with your baby in your trunk. Wait, wait. I think I will sleep a little now, I am feeling sleepy, very sleepy.

(Sound of gunshot)

I feel something in my ear. Something is flowing out. I can’t open my eyes, I am tired. It’s all blurry here. I see three of them now.

Man 2 says, “This is the one. You think you can put it at peace?”

Man 3 says, “Of course. But after what he has done-broke houses, killed my friends, I want him to die slowly. Very slowly.”

Man 2 says, “Your department. But you know what we want.”

Man 3 nods and says, “Yes. It will be done.”

Man 1 says, “Is it right?”

Man 2 says, “Don’t worry. Earning a few bucks off this dumb animal won’t hurt anyone. It is the only place where having no brains is worth something.”

(Man 1 and Man 2 leave)

What is this animal doing? What is that thing in his hand? It looks like a trunk but straighter and thin. Whose it can be? I can see a cavity. It is very close to my eye.

(Sound of gunshot)

I cannot see. My eye hurts. Why is everything dark. He is saying something, I cannot understand. Oh my eye hurts. It hurts a lot.

(Sound of gunshot)

It has hit my stomach. I can feel the blood. It is thick. It is gushing out of my body. Ralph, where are you Ralph?

(Big Al blows his trunk)

Anyone? Help. I am getting killed. Please help.

(Big Al blows his trunk)

My voice is too low for anyone to hear. My head is feeling light, light as a feather. The blood has drowned me. I am sleepy, very sleepy. Ralph, Coco, anyone?

(Big Al blows his trunk followed by a sound of something sharp against his skin)

 

Image Credit: https://unsplash.com/search/photos/elephant

Leave a comment