I can but I won’t

I am Sid. My name is something else but people prefer to call me Sid because I resemble a cool character from some winter movie of the ancient, past time. My mother told me about it when I was 5, and now that I am 8, it all makes sense.

In the story there were some animals who survived a long, chilly winter with the help of their interdependent personality and humor, which is a weird combination. And then something happened and all of them died (as narrated by Dad). This made me think…like really think about my life and all the life around me. And then I took a very strong decision about not doing anything at all.

If everything comes to an end then what is the point of all this?

Today, I came back from school and threw my bad in the living room. Mom had instructed me very clearly not to do so and keep my bag near my bed in my room. So, when my mom came back to my room and kept my bag in the ‘instructed’ place, ready to scold me once again, I asked, “Mom, if you will continue keeping my bag in the ‘instructed’ place even if I repeat not doing so, what is the point of me in doing so?” I don’t think she clearly understood what I meant to say but then she didn’t scold me and left my room in a hurry.

An hour back, I sat with my homework notebook on my lap and started solving questions. Suddenly a thought crossed my mind and I ran to the telephone and made a call to one of my friends.

Me: Did you complete the homework?

Friend: Yes, I did. You want the answers?

Me: (Pause) Yes, please dictate.

And that is how I completed my homework in under 10 minutes and went to play with my younger brother.

Just a couple of minutes back when I was watching TV, although I was just changing channels casually. There was a knock at the door and my dad announced himself.

I’m home.

My mom was busy making dinner and asked me to open the door. But I didn’t move. I wanted to see what would happen next. There was another knock on the door and my mom walked towards me.

Your Father’s home. Go open the door.

I didn’t move. And there was a third knock. Mom gave me a very angry look and then went on to open the door. I sat quietly and continued changing channels casually. I guess my mom must have narrated my ‘peculiar’ behaviour, after which, my father tried to talk to me. I said everything is fine and school was just another boring, routine, normal day.                                       

Now my cat has gone to the neighbor’s house to eat the fish curry which is made. I know about it, my parents don’t, my neighbour will when he sees an empty plate. I can stop it but I won’t. Because my cat will empty the plate one day or the other.

So, I sit here, writing this and waiting for my cat to come back, content with his life with a tummy filled with fish. My mom has called me for dinner so I guess I will write some other day, or not.

 

One thought on “I can but I won’t

Leave a comment