Suitcase of a Nutcase

We all have a dream job. Whether it be something like making food and fill tummies or to just make good pieces of art with woods and provide furniture for a house. But there are only a handful of people in this entire, big, huge world who are lucky enough to realize their dream into reality, and there are many reasons for the dreamers to not go for something that they see not fit to lead on to their dream job.

Among the dreamers is D who is in an interview, with I, for a job that he does not believe will lead him to his ultimate dream job.

I-So, where were we?

D-You were asking me some of your overused questions and I was answering them as fast as I could.

I-How charming. Chocolate?

D-Would that mean that we’re done here?

I-That would be a no.

D-Seriously just give me the job or…don’t. It wouldn’t make any difference.

I- Why are you in an anxious hurry?

D-Because I don’t want this job and I’m wasting my time. Don’t you see that?

I-I see you are not interested. But I don’t see how this would be a waste of time for you.

D-Come on. It has been like 20 minutes since we are talking and nothing makes sense. The conversation isn’t leading anywhere.

I-Then would you like it to make sense?

D-Would that mean that I can go?

I-Yeah. When it makes sense.

D-Right. That’s never.

I-The room is filled with your positivity.

D-Were you always like this? Stupid?

I-Yes and, now, I am interested in knowing about you more than ever.

D- (sighs) What do you want to know?

I-Why did you come here when you weren’t into the job like your father said you would?

D-He is a big liar. You’d know that ‘best friend’. It was his dream to make me study what I did. He never listened to me.

I-Why didn’t you tell him this in the first place?

D-You know how stubborn he is. He’d never listen to reason. He is just…a lost cause.

I-You’re his son. I thought you were half as stubborn as he is.

D-Well, half isn’t enough, is it?

I-That still doesn’t answer why you came to this interview. You merely explained why you studied what you did.

D-Okay, listen. If this is one of your I-am-trying-to-help-you class then please tell me right now. I have better things to do.

I-I am looking at a potential employee, not the son of my… ‘best friend’.

D-I…I play the keyboard.

I-And you’re good at it. I saw your video on YouTube.

D-Yeah. Thanks. Actually…I kind of made something and sent it to one of those music studios.

I-Really, which one?

D-I sent to 15 music studios.

I-Good. Go on.

D-And I am waiting for the call. I am 24 and without any work. I need something to live on my own. Dad could help but I don’t want that. I want something of my own. This is only for money and nothing else.

I-Why didn’t you go to anyone else? Why me?

D-You’ve seen me the last 15 minutes. I cannot show up in any other interview. They would know I am not into the business at all and then I’d get rejected. End of the story.

I-Makes sense. Commitment is of prime importance. But you know, as I said, I am looking at you as a potential employee and not someone I know since his childhood. I can reject you if I want to.

D-Then why didn’t you?

I-Your qualifications are good. Maybe if you had any interest in them, they’d have been excellent. But doesn’t matter. You are qualified for the job, according to these papers.

D-Yeah but I didn’t want to. Music is my life and I want to make something out of it.

I-Then you should not be here. There’s the door. Feel free to walk out.

D-But I want some money until I hear from one of those studios.

I-Dilemma are frustrating, aren’t they? You want some money but are not ready to earn that.

D-Because I think my future is somewhere else.

I-Maybe. But have you seen it? When exactly it’s going to happen?

D-Someday.

I-Can you wait until it happens? And what if it doesn’t happen? Ever.

D-But I don’t want to do this. I will work harder until I get there.

I-Then you better start buying time. And money, of course.

D-No one would give me a job. Will you?

I-I wouldn’t want someone who doesn’t want to stay in the first place. Will you stay until I want you to?

D-I can try but…

I-Nope. You must be the only candidate whom I have fired multiple times in my head. That’s a record.

D-I can’t lie and stay here.

I-And I don’t want you to. But if you are willing to look at it as something you desperately need to do in order to get where you want then I may reconsider the thought of not firing you one more time.

D-But what if at the end I don’t get where I want and get stuck?

I-You won’t be stuck if you do not get what you want. There are options, a lot of them. You just have to choose and move on. Sometimes we don’t get what we want but that doesn’t mean we have to stop and mourn over them.

D-Okay. Makes sense. So, I work here and, if I get the call, I leave?

I-You work here until your contract expires and then run wherever you want to, acknowledge this rush.

D-Won’t those guys reject me if I delay?

I-Say you’re working. You have waited, they can too, a little longer.

D- (sighs) Fine. I can wait a little longer.

I-Chocolate?

And, just like that, some of the million eyes opened in the huge world of ours, ready to face the world.

One thought on “Suitcase of a Nutcase

  1. Every story of yours has sm msg and a hidden motive behind it & that’s the only rrason I lv reading them.
    Man u r doing gr8.
    Keep it up!!!

    Like

Leave a comment