It is 0530 hours. I ask myself, like every other day, why my eyes open when the clock strikes 0530. Sometimes I think I should take advantage of it and go for a run but only someone stupid would sacrifice the warmth and tender arms of the mattress. So soft that I can just lay there all day long, only that I can’t.

I finally get up and reach for my phone. I forgot to charge it last night, yet again, and now the phone demands power that cannot be denied. I see my friends’ updates. All look happy and jolly. Maybe I am the only one whose life sucks. I need to take more pictures, maybe give the job to a professional photographer because I do not want to be left out in the race.

Oh no, I am late, yet again. How can updating myself with all the latest trends and gossips and stories take more than an hour is beyond my comprehension but it is not the first time that something like this has happened. Maybe it is the generation which is so fast. I am not the only, there are many like me. Some even worse.

Suited up and heading to work. The local bus smells rotten but I am immune to this after travelling in it for a couple of years now. I am forgetting something. Umm, can’t remember. Was it important? Can’t tell. Well, everything happens for a reason, same stuff this. And in the end, every single piece fits.

I don’t remember the name of the peon. People just call him peon, who cares anyway. He is just a peon. Finally meeting people after some hours of sleep is so relieving in a fast-paced world. Otherwise who has time to look up from their phones and say hi. Ohh, that’s him in the picture with his dog. Damn, he must be rich.

It is 1120. I always question myself, like always, why do I feel weak physically. I know for sure that I didn’t had any adventure last night, then why. Oh, I get it now. I forgot my breakfast. No worry, I’ll have brunch with…umm…what’s his name again? Anyways, I do not need food. Science says we are better able to concentrate when hungry. Time for better work, folks.

If there is heaven anywhere in this city, then it is inside this crispy fried chicken. What makes it so crunchy and so yummy is a question I ask myself when it’s tender, juicy meat teases my taste buds. Although expensive, they are totally worth it. Well worth thrice a week. Sometimes four.

I can’t wait to go back home. What to do after I get back? Hmm, a mystery. Let me search someone. Yes, swiped right. Sorted. Now where do I take her. Restaurants are burning a hole in my pocket and my salary won’t be transferred to my account before the end of this month. Should I invite her home? Won’t that creep her out? I don’t want to seem like a desperate guy. Uggh, it is such a difficult decision to make. Let me text my friends and see what they say…

Finally, home. I am starving. Today it will be Chinese and nothing but Hakka Noodles. Still no replies. Maybe I should cancel the date. But will I get another chance? With her: probably no, but I can swipe right later too. Technology has made things so simpler. And…uh oh…call from home. I should let it pass. I don’t have anything new to say and my food habits haven’t changed much. They probably won’t understand what Hakka Noodles is. I should let it pass. Although I can’t remember when I last talked to them. Someday in last week…month?

I just want to sleep again. But let me update myself with all the stories there is…It is 0100 in the morning but it is not a Sunday. I have my presentation tomorrow and I haven’t prepared for it. But no one seemed interested in the first place. I’ll let it pass. It won’t impact the company or me. My salary would continue coming even if I work less. The trick? Come up with excuses which are believable and acknowledge what a true mentor and leader your boss is. Job done.

The End.

Leave a comment